Artists

Ten local artists with a wide variety of styles and backgrounds have each designed a room in the HOTEL NOËL. On doing so, they are creating 10 unique little worlds. Worlds that inspire, entertain, relax, delight, give cause to reflect – sometimes all at the same time.

A.C. Kupper

A.C. Kupper is a graphic designer, photographer, musician, gallery owner, winner of the Swiss Grand Award for Design bestowed by the Federal Office of Culture, and a well-known, constantly proactive protagonist in Zurich’s cultural landscape.

Benjamin Solt

The works by Benjamin Solt examine the interplay between picture and object. The main focus is on imagery and its continuation in a spatial object. They are based on the drawing of geometric forms and their subsequent materialization. By means of specific interventions, compositional possibilities are explored, volumes dissected, subtracted, placed inside each other, assembled, and rearranged. Benjamin Solt’s oeuvre comprises wall and spatial objects, installations, and paintings.

Corso Bertozzi

Zurich artist Corso Bertozzi feels equally at home on a canvas with acrylic paint as he does with a spray can painting on a building facade. His method of working always focuses on the place, the space available, and its structures. His works are characterized by clear-cut graphic forms and design elements from urban contemporary art that are adapted to the environment. His creations range from small pictures in postcard format to wall paintings covering 300 square meters (3,300 square feet).

Husmann/Tschaeni

Mira Tschaeni and Michael Husmann Tschaeni are an internationally active Swiss artist duo. Their work encompasses the disciplines of painting, mixed media, installation, video, and performance. They create surreal worlds by mixing figurative elements with dreamlike settings using an unmistakable color spectrum. Their works bear witness to their immense imagination, from which worlds full of positive energy are created – always combined with a hint of hidden, otherworldly darkness.

Martina von Meyenburg

The (hi)stories of found objects and materials form the basis of von Meyenburg’s sculptural investigations. As a collector and curator of “traces”, the visceral and associative evidence of the previous lives of things, she is interested in how particular material combinations and modes of display can alter our relationship to the “data” presented. In her work, which comprises various media such as sculptures, installations, works on paper, and photography, the artist pushes the playfully surreal and instinctive aspects of her creations.

Matthias Gubler

Matthias Gubler worked as a video jockey for many years, including abroad. Nowadays, he works as a video and concept artist and freelance designer in Zurich. Gubler’s art is characterized by its formal precision. His easily accessible video collages allow content, form, and rhythm to fuse together. The examination of everyday situations or political themes results in extremely humorous, sometimes sarcastic, and always very aesthetic images.

Myriam Gämperli

In her illustrations and stagings, Myriam Gämperli creates images that reinterpret form and content, free from conventions or constraints. By combining the known with the unexpected in a powerful and refreshing way, she translates contemporary themes in the style of Dada into profound and invariably humorous collages.

schoenstaub

The schoenstaub brand is attracting a lot of attention from all over the world due to its amazing designs. Behind the project is Nadja Stäubli, who with the schoenstaub label combines her passion for art and design. Meanwhile, the carpet collection has expanded to include lifestyle articles for the entire living space – always true to the motto, “every journey begins at home”. In addition to her work as a designer, Stäubli works as a photographer and DJ.

Sebastian Utzni

As an international story collector and storyteller, Sebastian Utzni works between and across various disciplines. “I believe that everything is probably interconnected,” he says. With his room at the Glockenhof Zürich, the artist unites the celestial bodies of the sun, moon, and stars, which he has compiled from various national flags to create a poetic-political space.

Yehteh

Philipp Dornbierer is a freelance illustrator from Zurich who goes by the alias of Yehteh – a pseudonym derived from the original spelling of Yeti. Large mythical creatures like the Himalayan mountain man and ghostly figures have always been a source of inspiration for him and influence his current work as much as his early experiments with silk-screen printing. His illustrations stand out through the use of a limited but all the more expressive color palette. His delicate and minimal approach keeps the core idea of the image in main focus. As an illustrator, Yehteh counts The New York Times and Google among his clients.

CHRISTMAS IN ZÜRICH

by

ON THE MAP

KÜNSTLER:INNEN

10 lokale Künstler:innen unterschiedlichsten Stils und Backgrounds, haben sich der Gestaltung je eines Zimmers des HOTEL NOËL angenommen. Sie schaffen 10 einzigartige, kleine Welten. Welten, die inspirieren, unterhalten, zum Nachdenken anregen, entspannen, begeistern – manchmal auch alles zugleich.

A.C. Kupper

A.C. Kupper ist Grafiker, Fotograf, Musiker, Galerist, Träger des Grand Prix Design der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft und in der Zürcher Kulturlandschaft ein bekannter, stets proaktiver Charakter, der es beherrscht Brücken zwischen Sub- und Hochkultur zu schlagen.

Benjamin Solt

Die Arbeiten von Benjamin Solt bewegen sich in einer Wechselwirkung zwischen Bild und Objekt. Dabei steht die Thematik der Bildlichkeit und deren Weiterführung zum räumlichen Objekt im Fokus. Die Basis bildet das Zeichnen von Geometrien und deren darauffolgenden Materialisierung. Durch bestimmte Eingriffe werden kompositorische Möglichkeiten ausgelotet, Volumen zerschnitten, subtrahiert, ineinander versetzt, neu angeordnet und zusammengebaut. Benjamin Solts Arbeiten umfassen Wand- und Raumobjekte, Installationen und Malereien.

Corso Bertozzi

Der Zürcher Künstler Corso Bertozzi fühlt sich an der Leinwand mit Acrylfarbe ebenso wohl wie mit Spraydose und Streichfarbe an einer Hauswand. Seine Schaffensweise konzentriert sich stets darauf, auf den zu bespielenden Ort, den vorhandenen Raums und dessen Strukturen einzugehen. Klare grafische Formen und auf die Umgebung abgestimmte Gestaltungselemente aus der Urban Contemporary Art zeichnen seine Werke aus. Sein Schaffen erstreckt sich von kleinen Bildern im Postkarten-Format bis hin zu Wandgemälden mit einer Grösse von 300 Quadratmetern.

Husmann/Tschaeni

Mira Tschaeni und Michael Husmann Tschaeni sind ein international tätiges Schweizer Künstlerduo. Ihr Werk bewegt sich in den Disziplinen Malerei, Mixed Media, Installation, Video und Performance. Sie kreieren surreale Welten, indem sie mittels eines unverkennbaren Farbspektrums Gegenständliches mit traumartigen Szenerien vermischen. Ihre Werke zeugen von ihrer monströsen Fantasie, aus der Welten voller positiver Energie geschaffen werden – stets kombiniert mit einem Hauch von verborgener, jenseitiger Dunkelheit.

Martina von Meyenburg

Die Geschichten gefundener Objekte und Dinge formen die Basis von von Meyenburg’s skulpturalen Investigationen. Als Sammlerin und Kuratorin assoziativer Spuren und intuitiver Merkmale von Dingen und deren vergangener Leben, interessiert sie sich dafür, inwiefern spezifische Darstellungsarten, Materialkombinationen und -manipulationen unser Verhältnis zu den präsentierten Daten und Informationen verändern. In ihrem Schaffen, welches unterschiedliche Medien wie Skulpturen, Installationen, Arbeiten auf Papier und Fotografie umfasst, treibt die Künstlerin die surrealen und intuitiven Aspekte ihrer Werke spielerisch an.

Matthias Gubler

Matthias Gubler war langjährig und international als Videojockey tätig. Heute arbeitet er als Video- und Konzeptkünstler und selbständiger Gestalter in Zürich. Gublers Arbeiten zeichnen sich durch formale Präzision aus. Seine leicht zugänglichen Videocollagen lassen Inhalt, Form und Rhythmus verschmelzen. Die Auseinandersetzung mit alltäglichen Situationen oder politischen Themen resultiert in äusserst humorvollen, manchmal sarkastischen und immer sehr ästhetischen Bildern.

Myriam Gämperli

In ihren Illustrationen und Inszenierungen erschafft Myriam Gämperli – frei jeglicher Konventionen und Zwängen – Bilder, die Form und Inhalt neu interpretieren. Indem sie Altbekanntes mit Unerwartetem kraftvoll und erfrischend verbindet, verarbeitet sie in Dada-Manier zeitgenössisch relevante Themen zu tiefgründigen und stets auch humorvollen Collagen.

schoenstaub

schoenstaub stösst mittlerweile durch ihre einzigartigen Designs auf der ganzen Welt auf grosse Resonanz. Hinter dem Projekt steht Nadja Stäubli, die mit dem Label schoenstaub ihre Leidenschaft für Kunst und Design miteinander vereint. Mittlerweile hat sich das Sortiment von Teppichen durch Lifestyle-Produkte im gesamten Wohnraum erweitert – immer dem Motto the journey begins at home getreu. Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Designerin arbeitet Stäubli auch interdisziplinär als Fotografin und legt als DJ auf.

Sebastian Utzni

Als Geschichtensammler und –Erzähler arbeitet der international tätige Sebastian Utzni zwischen und über verschiedene Disziplinen hinweg. «Ich glaube, dass wahrscheinlich alles miteinander verbunden ist», sagt er. Mit seinem Zimmer im Glockenhof Zürich vereint er die Himmelskörper Sonne, Mond und Sterne, die der Künstler aus verschiedenen Flaggen der Nationen der Erde zusammengestellt hat, zu einem poetisch-politischem Raum.

Yehteh

Philipp Dornbierer ist ein freischaffender Illustrator aus Zürich, der unter dem Alias Yehteh arbeitet. Ein Künstlername, abgeleitet von der originalen Schreibweise von Yeti. Fabelwesen wie der Bergmensch aus dem Himalaya und geisterhafte Gestalten dienen ihm seit jeher als Inspirationsquelle und beeinflussen seine aktuellen Arbeiten genauso wie sein frühes Experimentieren mit Siebdruck. Seine Illustrationen stechen durch die Verwendung einer begrenzten, aber umso ausdrucksstärkeren Farbpalette heraus. Als Illustrator zählt Yehteh unter anderem die New York Times und Google zu seinen Kunden.

WEIHNACHTEN IN ZÜRICH

mit

AUF DER KARTE