Glockenhof Zürich

“Sky is the Limit” is the name of his concept, which is intended to represent both the internationality, openness, and inventiveness of the city of Zurich and an oasis of calm in the heart of the city during the Advent season. A room for philosophers.

Invite Friends

Book Now

CHRISTMAS IN ZÜRICH by Sebastian Utzni

1
2
3

Sebastian Utzni

As an international story collector and storyteller, Sebastian Utzni works between and across various disciplines. “I believe that everything is probably interconnected,” he says. With his room at the Glockenhof Zürich, the artist unites the celestial bodies of the sun, moon, and stars, which he has compiled from various national flags to create a poetic-political space.

1

From the hotel, walk along Bahnhofstrasse to the lake. Under Paradeplatz, the world’s gold slumbers in huge vaults, while above ground on the square, phone calls are hastily made between meetings and all the world pays a visit to the city’s boutiques. Tranquility quickly returns over a cup of coffee at Le Raymond Bar, near Paradeplatz, directly on the waterfront.

2

Having arrived at the lake, make your way to the Seebad Enge outdoor bathing facility. The sauna is a popular meeting place. Now and again, plucky guests take a plunge in the icy-cold lake, which is invigorating and refreshing!

3

Afterwards, a stroll along the lakeshore leads to Stadelhofen train station, an architectural gem by Santiago Calatrava – the lower level resembles the insides of a fish. However, now the S-Bahn heads out of the city center – because Zurich is more than banks, mountains, and a lake. People of 170 nationalities live here, all bringing with them their wonderful cultures. For instance, the Dapur restaurant in Oerlikon. A great (vegan) Indonesian restaurant in a tucked-away location.

ON THE MAP

Glockenhof Zürich

«Sky is the Limit» heisst sein Konzept, das in der Vorweihnachtszeit sowohl die Internationalität, Offenheit und den Ideenreichtum der Stadt Zürich als auch eine Oase der Ruhe im Herzen der Stadt darstellen soll. Das Zimmer für Philosophen.

Freunde einladen

Jetzt buchen

WEIHNACHTEN IN ZÜRICH mit Sebastian Utzni

1
2
3

Sebastian Utzni

Als Geschichtensammler und –Erzähler arbeitet der international tätige Sebastian Utzni zwischen und über verschiedene Disziplinen hinweg. «Ich glaube, dass wahrscheinlich alles miteinander verbunden ist», sagt er. Mit seinem Zimmer im Glockenhof Zürich vereint er die Himmelskörper Sonne, Mond und Sterne, die der Künstler aus verschiedenen Flaggen der Nationen der Erde zusammengestellt hat, zu einem poetisch-politischem Raum.

1

Le Raymond Bar
Vom Hotel aus läuft man entlang der Bahnhofstrasse bis zum See. Unter dem Paradeplatz ruht das Gold der Welt in Tresoren, während auf dem Platz noch hastig Telefonate zwischen zwei Meetings geführt werden und die Welt zu Gast in den Boutiquen der Stadt ist. Beim Kaffee in der Le Raymond Bar nahe beim Paradeplatz direkt am Wasser kehrt plötzlich Ruhe ein.

2

Sauna am See
Am See angekommen, geht es ins Seebad Enge. Hier trifft sich die ganze Stadt in der Sauna. Zwischendurch springt man wagemutig in den eiskalten See … Great and refreshing!

3

Restaurant Dapur
Anschliessend führt ein Spaziergang entlang des Ufers zum Bahnhof Stadelhofen, einem architektonisches Juwel von Santiago Calatrava: Das Untergeschoss mutet wie das Innere eines Fisches an. Mit der S-Bahn geht’s nun aber raus aus dem Zentrum, denn Zürich ist mehr als Banken, Berge und der See. 170 Nationen leben hier und alle bringen ihre wunderbaren Kulturen mit. Etwa im Restaurant Dapur in Oerlikon. Ein grossartiges (veganes) indonesisches Restaurant an einem versteckten Ort.

AUF DER KARTE